She Doesn’t Know

She Doesn’t Know
By Cecily Michelle

She doesn’t know how beautiful she is.

I could tell her, over and over again, how her smile lights up a room.

I could go on and on about her eyes and how looking into them makes my knees weak.

I could run my hand down her body detailing the beauty of every inch of skin.

Every curve.

Every freckle.

I have, in my dreams.

In that safe space of my fantasies, I tell her how her touch fills me with joy.

I tell her how being close to her feels so natural, so comfortable.

I tell her that I feel the changes in her breathing.

I know when her heart races.

Mine is too.

We lay there, in my bed, and she rolls away to get her drink.

In that moment, in my mind, I gently move her hair to one side, and I kiss her shoulder.

Her neck.

I pause right behind her ear, and I breathe in her sweet smell.

My face nuzzled in that space where her hair starts its fall down her body.

My stomach fills with butterflies.

She doesn’t know how beautiful she is.

—-

She doesn’t know how beautiful she is.

She doesn’t understand the effect she has on people, just by being.

Her hair takes away the breath of everyone who sees it.

It spirals down and out like a thousand curls of fire.

Uncontrollable.

Unavoidable.

Undeniably beautiful.

Telling her that, though…

She blushes and dismisses compliments with a shy awkward innocence.

She has a disbelief in what is obvious to all, save her.

Thing is, she could cut all of that glorious red mane off, and she would still be just as stunning.

She doesn’t know how beautiful she is.

Which makes her all the more so.

Leave a Reply

