Better Than The Void

Better Than The Void
By Cecily Michelle

You hurt me
and you blamed it on me

I hurt you
and I blamed it on you

We’re both trying so hard to write the perfect story
We forgot to read each others stories already written

I gave you my love
and you said it wouldn’t work

You gave me your love
and I said, no not that way

You expected me to be a certain way
and was disappointed when I wasn’t

I expected you to be a certain way
and shut off when you weren’t

Is this the problem with going deep so fast
Is this what I was afraid of

The ache in my chest is relentless
I barely even slept

The ache in my chest means I love you
and that is better than the void.

1 thought on “Better Than The Void”

Leave a Reply

