Trusting My Gut

A friend came over last night to help me through a difficult situation.  He reminded me that I have the keenest, most accurate gut he has ever known.  He listened to my fears about trusting it and reassured me that I do not have to settle for someone.  And I certainly do not have to settle for someone that is going to lash out at me when they are in the wrong.

I’ll Be In The Corner
By Cecily Michelle

Fear is a powerful monster
He feeds on your insecurities
Whispers in your ear when your instincts kick in
“But what if you’re wrong…if you screw this up now, you’ll have nothing.”

Instinct is the introvert in the corner
She has knowledge and wisdom
But is easily talked over…beaten down.
“Excuse me, if you could just hear what I have to say…”

Their battle ground is you
And the more Fear wins
The easier it is for him to win again
“You’ll get hurt if you trust her.  Listen to me.”

It’s time go sit in the corner with your wounded gut
Hold her tight and tell her that you trust her
Ask her to speak louder and clearer
“I’m sorry I didn’t listen.  I can hear you now.”

Leave a Reply

